Staff and Student Awards - The Winners!

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

On the 2nd of April we held our annual Aber SU Staff and Students Awards. This evening was a chance for Aber SU to celebrate and thank exceptional staff members, student volunteers and departments that truly make Aberystwyth great.

The awards are now in their 8th year, and we are pleased that we received 280 nominations, ranging from students nominating their lecturers to fellow students nominating their academic representatives.

All those shortlisted and the winners are nominated, decided and awarded by Aberystwyth students – student led from nomination to presentation.

There were fourteen award categories in this year’s awards, which recognise staff, student volunteers and academic reps in a range of settings across the university.

This year’s winners were:


Next Step Award

Ian Birchmore (Business)


Volunteer Officer of the Year

Joao Louro (IBERS)


Postgraduate Teacher of the Year

Angharad Ffion James (Law and Criminology)


Supervisor of the Year

Karl Hoffmann (IBERS)


Outstanding Feedback Award

Simon Payne (IBERS)


Student Mentor of the Year

Panna Karlinger (Department of Mathematics)


Personal Tutor of the Year

Andrew Evans (Department of Physics)


Welsh Language Champion

John Davies (IBERS)


Student Volunteer of the Year

Robin Church (Department of Geography and Earth Sciences)


Support / Service Staff Member of the Year

Doug Kerr (Student Support Service)


Academic Representative of the Year

Aaron Phillips (Theatre, Film and Television Studies)


Lecturer of the Year

Deena Bhoyroo (Mauritius)


Leading Equality

Adam Vellender (Department of Mathematics)


Special Mention

Kathy Hampson (Law and Criminology)


Department of the Year



Congratulations to all involved in the organisation of the event, those on the shortlist and the winners.

Official photographs have been added to the UMAberSU Facebook page, so go have a look, tag yourselves or your department!


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.

Useful Links

Registered Charity

Aberystwyth Students' Union #1150576