AberSU Celebrates 2024: Sports Awards winners

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

AberSU Celebrates 2024: The Sports and Societies Awards were held at the Students’ Union on Wednesday 1st of May.

These awards recognise the dedication of students to their Sports Club and societies, recognising contributions socially, competitively and professionally.

This year we received 528 nominations & the shortlisting panel met at the start of April to work through the nominations and make some tough decisions.

We would like to congratulate everyone that was nominated as well as those winning the categories this evening.

Congratulations to all!

Here are the list of winners from the Society / Sports Awards:

Welsh Culture Award:

  1. Harriers
  2. Women's Football 
  3. Hiking 

Sustainability (Cultural/Social, Environmental and Economic) Award:

  1. Sailing 
  2. Aerial Fitness 
  3. Boat Club 

Sports Personality of The Year:

  1. Sam Kimber 
  2. Jack Foxton 
  3. Alan Atkins 

Sports Person of the Year:

  1. Sophie Steele 
  2. Janos Vranek 
  3. Hannah Hannon-Worthington 

Non - BUCS Team of The Year:

  1. Aber Snow 
  2. Dancesport 
  3. Harriers 

Most Improved Club of the Year:

  1. Caving 
  2. Archery 
  3. Kickboxing 

Committee Excellence Award:

  1. Aerial Fitness 
  2. Showdance
  3. Hiking 

BUCS Team of The Year:

  1. American Football 
  2. Badminton 
  3. Netball 

Biggest Contribution RAG:

  1. Showdance 
  2. Aerial Fitness 
  3. Caving 

Club of the Year:

  1. Badminton 
  2. Volleyball 
  3. Women’s Football 

Varsity Team of the Year:

  1. Volleyball 
  2. Women's Basketball 
  3. Men's Football 


This is an extremely coveted award now with a maximum of 15 available to give out per year.

Full University Sports Colours are awarded to individual students who have shown continued outstanding dedication or made an exceptional contribution to their club, whilst also demonstrating commitment to the SU and/or student sport. In exceptional circumstances, students may also be awarded colours for excelling at their chosen sport to a high level, including winning an international/national or BUCS Competition or representing their sport at a national/international level.

The 15 winners for University Sports Colours are as follows:

  1. Andrew McCran
  2. Ben Rendell
  3. Bethany Letts
  4. Caitlin Mc Veigh
  5. Dan Whitlock
  6. Elinor Jones
  7. Heather Heap
  8. Jack Foxton
  9. Jordan Roberts
  10. Meilir Pryce Griffiths
  11. Michelle Cullenaine
  12. Oli Smoult
  13. Oscar Pearcey
  14. Rachel Seabourne
  15. Rebecca Challinor

A huge congratulations to all nominees and winners of the 2024 AberSU Celebrates Awards.

Da iawn / Well done from us all at AberSU




ConGRADulations 2024

Fri 31 May 2024

Elain's 23 - 24 Round-up

Fri 28 Jun 2024

Tiff's 23 - 24 Round-up

Fri 28 Jun 2024

Helen's 23 - 24 Round-up

Fri 28 Jun 2024