AberSU Teaching Awards Shortlist

No ratings yet. Log in to rate.

Last Wednesday our AberSU Teaching Awards panel consisting of the Ryan Myles (Education Officer), Ellie Furness (Academic Rep), Jenny Melum (Academic Rep), Cindy Jaboon (Academic Rep) and Lucy Hodson (Director of Planning) met to go through every one of your 426 nominations! A shortlist of nominees has been selected and winners of each of the 13 awards chosen.

The AberSU Teaching Awards are student led from nomination to presentation and so are a special way for students to thank academic representatives and staff at Aberystwyth University for their amazing support and hard work. We are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2017 AberSU Teaching Awards are:

Leading Equality Award

Winner to be announced on the night

Next Step Award

Brendan Coyle (Law and Criminology)

Alison Pierse (Lifelong Learning)

Adrian Mironas (IBERS)

Jim Provan (IBERS)

Innovative Teaching Award

Matthew Philips (History and Welsh History)

Nikolas Perdikis (Business)

Jukka Kiukas (Maths)

Susan Busby (AU Mauritius)

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year

David Cutress (IBERS)

Adrian Mironas (IBERS)

Patrick Kavanagh (English and Creative Writing)

Alexandros Koutsoukis (Interpol)

Supervisor of the Year (Postgraduate)

Daniel Burgarth (Maths)

Lucy Taylor (Interpol)

Helen Whiteland (IBERS)

Russ Morphew (IBERS)

Supervisor of the Year (Undergraduate)

Andrew Davenport (Interpol)

Jim Provan (IBERS)

Brendan Coyle (Law and Criminology)

Sarah Riley (Psychology)

Outstanding Feedback Award

Ian Harris (Business)

Martyn Powell (History and Welsh History)

Kader Izri (Modern Languages)

Hazel Davey (IBERS)

Personal Tutor of the Year

Ffion Llewelyn (Law and Criminology)

Homagni Choudhury (Business)

Kim Kenobi (Maths)

Sarah Dalesman (IBERS)

Hyrwyddwr yr Iaith Gymraeg (Welsh Language Champion)

Winner to be announced on the night

Support / Service Staff Member of the Year

Jackie Hedley (Maths)

Stephen Fearn and David Lewis (Maths,  Physics and Computer Science)

Helen Stockley-Jones (Sports Centre / Geography and Earth Sciences)

Academic Representative of the Year

Kieran Quaine (Maths)

Carly Jackson (Geography and Earth Sciences)

Philip Perry (Education)

Adrian Mironas (IBERS)

Lecturer of the Year

Mark Whitehead (Geography and Earth Sciences)

Annie Winson (Geography and Earth Sciences)

Ved Prukash Torul (AU Mauritius)

Michael Roberts (History and Welsh History)

Department of the Year

Geography and Earth Sciences



Theatre, Film and Television Studies

A huge congratulation to all shortlisted nominees. The AberSU Teaching Awards ceremony will take place on Friday 5th May at 7.00pm in the Great Hall, Aberystwyth Arts Centre.

We hope to see many of you there for a great evening celebrating the hard work and dedication of Aberystwyth University academic representatives and staff!


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.